shutterBLAST : Hammer. Smashed. Photos.
    Best rated photo  

09.08.2010. Video Interview of MaYaN with Mark JANSEN adn Jack DRIESSEN




Nuclear Blast proudly announces the signing of MaYaN

Mark Jansen's (EPICA) new band, founded together with Jack Driessen (ex AFTER FOREVER) and Frank Schiphorst, is called MaYaN, named after the wise and rich mayan culture.

'There was only one record label we wanted to sign with: Nuclear Blast, so we didn't even look for other companies to work with and we're very happy that this appreciation is mutual!

The debut album will be recorded and mixed at the end of the year 2010 and the beginning of 2011 by Sascha Paeth.

We're also stoked to announce that Jeroen Paul Thesseling (PESTILENCE, OBSCURA), known for his signature six-string fretless playing in progressive death metal, will join as permanent member on bass guitar.

Isaac Delahaye and Arien van Weesenbeek (EPICA) will complete the line up!

The album will be released around May 2011 and the CD presentation will take place at the Paradiso in Amsterdam.
The music is a mixture of death, black and progressive metal combined with symphonic orchestral arrangements. We'll work with some very interesting guests and these will be announced very soon!'
Also soon online:




It is with great pride that we at Nuclear Blast can announce the signing of Mark Jansen’s (Epica) new band called MaYaN!

Already 2 years ago Mark told me that he was working on some new music that didnt fit in very well with the material he wrote for Epica.

Of course we at Nuclear Blast were all ears and we became even more curious after we heard that Mark was working together with the original keyboardplayer of After Forever, Jack Driessen!

As soon as we heard the first music we knew that here was something special going on and that we had to keep an eye on this!

In the meantime Mark, Jack and the very skilled guitarplayer Frank Schiphorst have written some amazing music and it is time that you have a chance to hear this as well!

We at Nuclear Blast are impressed since the beginning and as we already have a great relation with Epica it was a no brainer for both parties that MaYaN would also join the Nuclear family!!!

The band will start recording the album in November and will finish it in January for a May release in 2011!

The line up of MaYaN is completed by Jeroen Paul Thesseling (PESTILENCE, OBSCURA), Isaac Delahaye and Arien van Weesenbeek (both Epica)



For more info on MaYaN watch the videomessage that was recorded by Audrey Dujardin of


Bands: 446
Photos: 41266

Visits: 158941
Clicks: 5042899

Follow us on Twitter

Like us on Facebook

© Dachaz, 2007.